1952~1967

ROYAL HELLENIC AIR FORCE

AGUSTA-BELL 47J RANGER
CESNA T -37C
GRUMMAN G 159 GULFSTREAM 1
LOCKHEED F-104G / RF-104G / TF-104G STARFIGHTER
LOCKHEED T-33A / CANADAIR CT-133 MK III SILVER STAR LOCKHEED RT-33A SILVER STAR
NORTH AMERICAN F-86D DOG SABRE
NORTH AMERICAN F-86E(M) SABRE
NORTHROP F-5A/B FREEDOM FIGHTER
REPUBLIC F-84F THUNDERSTREAK
REPUBLIC F-84G THUNDERJET
REPUBLIC RF-84F THUNDERFLASH
SIKORSKY UH-19D CHICKASAW
2 Responses to “1952~1967”

  1. Nate Decker Says:

    Hello,
    I have a question for you about the Greek Air Force that I hope you can either answer or direct me to someone who might be able to. While I can find a wealth of information on more “modern” Greek AF jets, both online and in print, I have had a rotten time trying to find information on the jets of the 1950s and early 1960s. Specifically, I am researching the old Republic F-84G, F-84F, and RF-84F models in European service. I know that hundreds of these F-84s were in Greek service for many years, I have all their serial numbers, but I can find only tiny bits and pieces of information about their actual service in the Greek AF. I’d love to know what units each serial number was assigned to, if any of them were lost in accidents and when, and what happened to them after the end of their useful service lives. Period photographs are also rare, I’ve only found a few dozen photos of Greek F-84s. It’s odd that I can find a lot of similar information for Dutch, Belgian, and Danish F-84s, but it seems like the Greek F-84s fell into a black hole, so to speak. Maybe because I’m an English-only speaker/reader, I’ve not been able to find any of these records online or maybe they don’t exist. Here in the States the USAF has a historical agency that has all these records available, is there something similar in Greece? Do you know where I might find any of the information on the F-84s I’m looking for?
    Thanks very much,
    Nate Decker

  2. Φώτης Ζωγράφος Says:

    Γειά σου Δημήτρη!
    You may also add DHC Beaver in the list!

Leave a Reply

